iPad vs Laptop 

Since we have been given iPads this year, I wanted to use it to it’s full potential.

So far, I have made the following changes compared to last year:

  • Using the iPad for note taking 

I think it’s great to be able to take digital notes in the lectures. It’s quicker than that old technology called “pen and paper” that I used in previous years.  It’s nice to be able to lookup definitions for words used in the lectures.  I also love the fact that I can take notes on my iPad, and then pick up where I left off from my MacBook or phone without messing about with cables and email.

  • Getting resources 

So far it’s has been very useful to be able to access the Blackboard to get at resources from anywhere without having to lug a laptop around. And the fact that I get a notification from the Blackboard app when something new is added means that I don’t miss a beat. I don’t like to mix my uni stuff with my personal stuff, which is why I never opted to install the Blackboard app on my phone.

  • Creating work

I think the days of using PowerPoint to create presentations is officially behind me. Since using the iPad, I have created a few presentations using the Keynote app – which I otherwise wouldn’t ever use. For the Professional Practice module, we have created a presentation (as a group) that I hope we will use on the actual day of presenting. It looks really clean, the animations are so eye catching and the app easy to use. It literally took 5 minutes to learn. Again – it’s very useful to start it on my iPad and continue on my Mac.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

In contrast to the above, the FST iPad is able to do some tasks better, but the laptop is MUCH more capable. For example: I can’t code on an iPad or create a website. So having to carry 2 devices around is quite cumbersome.

After updating to iOS 9, the gap between iPad and laptop has become smaller as you can now do more advanced multitasking on the iPad than ever before. As a student,it’s really useful to be able to do 2 things at once on a mobile device – but still no coding.

For the days I don’t have a lot of work to do, I carry the iPad, and other days I carry the MacBook. As a student it’s difficult to carry both around, even if the iPad is light, the weight seems to become heavier at the end of the day. We will see how this turns out.

Irfan

Leave a Reply

