How ‘Duet’ is doubling my performance

I introduced a new app in my workflow called ‘Duet’ – also recently talked about it on this blog.

I have been using it with my Macbook in the past weeks and can safely say that it has succeeded in speeding up my workflow.

FullSizeRender

Its been very useful for the Mobile Application Development module (the irony!) where I can have Android Studio open on the Macbook, and the emulator open on the iPad. No need to switch windows anymore, or swipe desktops. Its simply a quick glance at the iPad, see the bugs, and correct the code – brilliant!

One of my friends saw this unique way of working and said “Wow” as soon as he saw it. He was quite confused as to how it was working and I explained all about the Duet app to him and he promptly downloaded it (mainly because it would become a paid app the next day!) and started using it. He has a 12″ Macbook and since his screen was smaller than mine, he noticed the biggest difference to his workflow for Android programming. I even showed him the different options you get in the menubar on the Mac.

It’s not perfect though. For example, sometimes it lags and doesn’t keep up with my cursor very well.

If you haven’t tried out Duet, I recommend that you do!

Irfan

Leave a Reply

