Why I Like iPad For Learning 

The more posts I write, and the more I go back and look at them – the more I realise that I haven’t explicitly told you my reasons for liking iPad for learning with at uni. So here is a list of just that. 

  1. It’s the future!
  2. It’s useful for tube journeys (shameless previous post plug!)
  3. Blackboard is quick to access
  4. I like having my uni stuff separate from personal iPad and iPhone stuff. 
  5. Don’t need to carry laptop just to take, download or follow notes
  6. I can annotate on notes!
  7. Syncing of files is excellent (iCloud)
  8. iTunes U is the best education app I have ever used – lots of useful courses and videos 
  9. The app selection is incredible – “there’s an app for that”
  10. Good for typing quick emails and for keeping a tab on incoming emails too
  11. It doesn’t complain if I leave it at home 
  12. It’s thin and light and I barely know it’s in my bag
  13. iPad doesn’t act like a barrier between me and the lecturer like a laptop does
  14. The battery lasts longer than my laptop sometimes
  15. My timetable works perfectly with the native calendar app
  16. Because I have my timetable in calendar, it tells me the times I should leave so I won’t be late
  17. Two things at once on screen mean I can have Pages and News open (Slide Over)
  18. AirDrop notes and things to my laptop/iPhone is very convenient 
  19. I can access OneDrive, iCloud Drive and Google Drive without logging in every time 
  20. It’s the best tool I’ve used for revision – lightweight and easy to revise on
  21. iBooks keeps my coursework specs in one place

I’m sure this post sounded more like an iPad ad in some ways, but those are all valid points! There are loads more, but can’t think of anymore right now. 

Some things I don’t like about using the iPad for learning:

  1. Due to the MDM profile, I’m forced to type in a long password, when I would really like to use a quicker pin (it doesn’t have Touch ID)
  2. I’m reminded on the lock screen and settings app that my iPad is managed by the university and that my location and web traffic is monitored. While this is fine, it still would be nice if it didn’t word it that way!
  3. Can’t code on it
  4. Blackboard app is not reliable. It’s easier and quicker to use Safari to access Blackboard!

Irfan

Leave a Reply

