Final Year – iPad in Education

And so it begins – my final year at the University of Westminster with the iPad as a way of enhancing my learning.

The FST iPad Programme has now been extended to level 4 students which is great because it means more students can now have instant access to information at their fingertips. And while I probably won’t be able to study alongside level 4 students, I’m sure they will develop their own ways of studying with them and I’m interested in seeing how they use them.

Just a few days before my first day back, I got a couple of emails from tutors that were planning the lessons/lecture in advance. They were emphasising the fact that we would need to bring the iPads in to class – presumably on a regular basis.

This is great as it proves my theory correct – tutors will become more used to the idea of teaching via iPads over time and using them alongside ‘traditional’ teaching methods.

I’m not sure how much I will be using the iPad this year, as I will need to focus on my final year project and other modules. They require a lot of ‘proper computing’ and can’t be done as easily on a tablet. My proposed project supervisor wasn’t really up to the idea of me taking meeting notes on the iPad (it was all I had on me at the time!) and advised me to bring a pen + paper to future meetings. I’m completely OK with that and he says its easier for him to make ‘red pen’ notes on paper than iPad.

This was just a quick post to say that I haven’t forgotten about this blog and I’m not likely to either. I’m very committed to document my journey. 🙂

I will of course continue to make posts at least once a week about my use of iPad in my final year.

Irfan

Leave a Reply

